My 1st Chuseok

Everyone loves a couple days off work, and celebrating a new (to me) holiday certainly adds interest to those days. Last week I got to celebrate Chuseok (추석), the Korean Thanksgiving. A time to celebrate the harvest, most people travel to their hometowns to be with their families. Like many foreigners, I didn’t have a family of my own to travel too; however, I do have some very kind friends who let me celebrate with them. 🙂

Monday a group consisting of me and a few other foreign friends went to Joey’s home, and ate a delicious meal cooked by his mother and sister.

nom nom nom!

Oh yes, that is bacon-wrapped tofu you see. And it was wonderful ~

Tuesday even more of us gathered to make songpyeon (송편) – small rice cakes with sweet fillings such as sesame seeds and sugar. It took a few tries before I got that hang of it, but even if they don’t turn out pretty they sure taste good!

Mrs. Park showing us how it’s done. She’s an expert ^^

Form the dough into little pot shapes and put in the filling.

Make sure you knead the dough well.  Mrs. Park said the secret to mixing the dough is use hot water.

I was feeling artsy, so I made mine into hearts, a star, and Snoopy ^^

After forming the songpyeon, they were steamed with pine needles. Around 10 minutes later we had delicious little cakes to eat.

Overall it was a nice holiday. I got to sleep and eat quite a bit of food. Plus the best part was being with lots of friends. It’s not very much fun spending holidays alone so far from home, even if it’s not a holiday I originally celebrated. I’m really lucky to have such good friends to care for me — and, just as important, who will feed me haha.

4 thoughts on “My 1st Chuseok

  1. Great post!!!

    It sounds like you had a lot of fun!!!! But bacon wrapped tofu???? That just sounds a little odd. How was the tofu prepared?

    Chuseok is one of my favorite holidays. Mainly because it does remind me of Thanksgiving back in the US.

    Sounds like you are having a great time there and I hope we can meet up while filming this upcoming weekend!

    • The bacon wrapped tofu really threw me off, but it was quite good. I don’t know how it was prepared though. I should ask! Tofu is showing up in dishes more these days for me. My friend made lasagna with tofu because ricotta & cottage cheese is impossible to find here. I never would have known really.

Leave a Reply

