New job! Kindy here I come.

My, my ~ how time flies. I’ve already been in Korea for 2 years and a bit at this point. I got in a pretty comfortable routine with things. I really felt a need for a change though. Teaching at an English camp gets a bit, well, repetitive. So I’ve recently changed from my position at Daejeon Educational Training Institute to a kindergarten in my neighborhood. Kind of a big jump from 13-15 year olds to 5-6 year olds! In general, I’d been lucky in the past to have the majority of my students have a decent understanding of English. I’m a little worried about going from that to kids who will barely understand me. But gosh darn it they’re so cute and itty-bitty!

One major improvement is that I can walk to work in under 10 minutes. My last job I had to take a shuttle bus every morning at around 8:10 am. And if you miss the bus, boy, are you in trouble! It’s the only one, so if you’re late then the options are to quick call a co-teacher and beg for a ride, or take public transportation. The subway wasn’t so bad, but the only bus that went near work only came every 30-45 minutes. So it’s either a 30 minute shuttle bus ride or maybe 1+ hours on public transport. Blegh.

Also my hours are pretty decent. Walk in at 10 am, leave around 3:30-4 pm. I’m not a morning person at all so this is nice for me. My lunch hour is drastically reduced, however, from about 1 hr to about 20 minutes. Oh well.

Luckily there’s another native English teacher who happened to work at the kindergarten about a year ago. We’ll be splitting up the kiddies. I get the 5 & 6 year olds. Although that’s Korean age so really they’re 4 & 5.

I feel like I’m starting all over! At my old job there really wasn’t any lesson planning or the types of things EPIK teachers usually do. I’m not EPIK anymore, so I feel like I have a lot of trial and error ahead of me.

If anyone is wondering how I found a job on my own: Facebook. Really. A friend knew I was going to be looking for a new job and saw a post on a Daejeon Facebook group from the kindergarten. I set up an interview, sent my resume, and here I am. I was actually working with my recruiter that helped me get here in the first place (Canadian ConnectionΒ fyi), but I ended up finding this mostly myself. So don’t count out Facebook as a resource. Usually there’s groups set up for a city or province so you can get help from other teachers if you have questions.

I don’t meet the kiddies until Tuesday, so I suppose I’ll eventually report back how things are going. Really hoping for a fun school year. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

