7 Handy Things to Keep at School

Over the years I was teaching in Korea, I acquired a lot of stuff around/in my desk. Honestly, it was a bit messy. My laptop, files, coffee mug, origami when I got bored, textbooks — you get the idea. But there were things I kept around because I found them to be handy or useful.

1. Cup ramyun

Though I tried not to eat too much ramyun (it’s not very good for you), I tried to get a back-up cup in my desk. My first school was notorious for having bad food. Seriously. Even teachers from other schools knew that. So after awhile I started making my own lunches. But on the days I forgot, and didn’t want the school food, I had some ramyun. It’s a good thing to have around so you don’t get too hungry during the day.

2. Snacks

I didn’t always have them around, but sometimes a piece of candy or something like that is just a nice pick-me-up when you need a bit of energy.

3. Feminine hygiene products

Well, sometimes it’s awkward talking about this stuff, but it’s not nearly as awkward as having to go to the nurses’s office with your co-teacher or someone else because you need to explain to the nurse that you need a pad. However, it is nice that they will generally have them because girl students will go there when they need one. Anyway, just save the trouble and keep a couple in your desk drawer.

4. Aspirin

It’s just a nice thing to have around. That and stomach medicine. Rather than waiting until you get home (or, again, having to go to the nurse), you have some around just in case.

5. Umbrella

During the summer months, which is when the rainy season happens, it’s handy to have an extra umbrella tucked away. The day may start out nice, but the weather can turn quickly and there may be a downpour at the end of the school day. Rather than walking home and getting soggy, you’ll be much better off with an umbrella around.

6. Tea

Nothing like a cuppa to warm you up or calm you down. There were always tea bags in the office, but the flavors were rather generic/boring. So I kept a couple boxes of tea that were sent from home so that I could make up a different flavor once in awhile. I also put hot cocoa packets in my drawer for the winter time.

7. Blanket

You’ll often see girls using these in cafes or famous stars on TV using them (mostly for modesty). I had happened to have gotten one of these lap blankets as a wedding favor from someone at school — even though I didn’t go to the wedding or know who they were (that’s actually pretty normal). Anyway, it was nice during the winter when I was sitting around the office and feeling a bit chilly. Plus, it could be a makeshift pillow for a quick nap. Actually, I had a mini pillow too for that purpose that I had bought at Art Box.

Hope that was useful! If you have any other suggestions for useful things like these I’d be interested to hear them. πŸ™‚Β 

Leave a Reply

