Let’s Eat – Kimchi & Tuna Canapé

I recently fell in love with Jisook’s (from the girl group Rainbow) little show on KStyleTV’s YouTube channel. The show is called “Coming Sook”, I believe, and it’s so fun! Jisook tries all these different things like calligraphy, cooking, and making crafts.

In a show last month she brewed her own beer and made finger food to go with it. They looked really good so I had to try it myself. So I present Jisook’s kimchi and tuna canapé.

What is a canapé? Well, I had to look it up on Wikipedia: “A canapé is a type of hors d’œuvre (“outside the (main) work”), a small, prepared and usually decorative food, held in the fingers and often eaten in one bite.”

Let’s try it! While Jisook fries her tofu, I decided to bake mine. Frying it certainly faster, but baking tofu gives it a firmer texture. Plus, it’s slightly better for you than frying.

 

tofu

Baking da tofu

I cut the tofu block into squares, and lined a baking sheet with parchment paper. Different cooking sites give different oven temperatures for baking tofu, but I’d say 400 degrees is good. Bake it for around 20-25 minutes, flipping them over half way through.

Meanwhile you can cook up the topping. Jisook didn’t use precise measurements, and I didn’t really either. I used –

  • 1 handful of chopped kimchi
  • 1 small can of skipjack tuna
  • approx. 1/2 cup of chopped onion
  • 1 tsp of sugar
  • approx. 1 tsp of sesame oil

Jisook used soju (or possibly cheongju [rice wine]) for the tuna smell, but I don’t mind the smell of tuna so I didn’t add anything like that. I also added a very small amount of garlic powder because I like garlic. Next time I think I’d use chopped garlic instead.

Once the topping and tofu are done you just enjoy!

canape.JPG

I didn’t eat it all in all in one go, but as long as you keep the tofu and topping separate they’ll keep for a few days until you finish it off.

Thanks to Jisook I now have a lovely, yummy recipe for parties or snacks. 잘 먹었습니다 ~

Plus, you can totally make the kimchi and tuna topping with other things like rice, noodles, or vegetables.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

