Why do I still study Korean?

Even though I don’t study nearly as much as I did when I lived in Korea, I still like to study Korean in my free time back home. But people have asked why do I keep studying even though I’m no longer in Korea?

Well, honestly, why not? Why do we, when we are young students, have to study other languages? There’s no guarantee we will use it in those specific countries. But it’s good for you! It’s good for your brain.

Also, I spent quite some time studying while I was in Korea. Why should I give up that skill? There were days when I was deskwarming and I would spend a couple hours (or more) listening to Talk To Me in Korean podcasts. Or I’d go to cafes after work and study by myself or with friends. I even took the beginner level TOPIK. So why stop? Even though I don’t keep a consist schedule for studying, and I really should, I like that I’ve kept it up.

Another reason is that it’s comforting. Daejeon became a second home and there are many times I miss it there and all my friends. I even had occasions to meet and hang out with the fine folks at Talk To Me in Korean. ^^ So hearing them on podcasts and watching their videos makes me feel like I’m back with them.

Speaking of which, I highly recommend TTMiK if you haven’t been there! Both the website and their YouTube page are very, very useful. Honestly they account for, like, 90% of my study materials. You can also listen to music and watch TV programs to study. Keep word journals of vocabulary you hear while watching. Write down unfamiliar words and go back to them later for review. These kinds of exercises make for more effective vocabulary learning.

And even if you take breaks, it’s no big deal. Just get back at it. You can do it! 화이팅!

3 thoughts on “Why do I still study Korean?

  1. Great post! I couldn’t agree more. Learning a language is not only good for your brain, it can be soothing for the soul. Keep it up and remember “He who know no foreign languages knows nothing of his own.” 화이팅! And yes, TTMIK rocks! ^^

Leave a Reply

