Is It Okay To Be in 2 Kpop Fan Clubs?

There’s no question that Kpop fans can have a fierce loyalty to their favorite groups. From fansite managers, to people who run Tumblrs, people who go to pretty much every event and take videos, and people who buy multiples of CDs just to get into a fan sign event. Those people are super into their groups!

But are we, as fans, allowed to have more than one bias? Or are we supposed to swear unfailing loyalty to our one ultimate group/singer?

I was kind of wondering this when I saw that GOT7 was having their 3rd recruitment for IGOT7s. I’ve been an official Hottest for about 4-5 years now. Even having moved back home I still sign up when the new period starts. However, last year I had been considering being an IGOT7 too. I didn’t sign-up then, though, because I didn’t feel super into GOT7 at the time. Not enough to shell out around $60 anyway. This year was different! I’ve been getting more into the group and I decided to just go for it.

And, really, we shouldn’t feel hesitation in terms of whether it’s “okay” to be part of 2 fan clubs. Why not? We international fans almost never get to see our groups live anyway. We’re just doing it to support them.

I do get that there are people who only want to support one group, and that’s cool too. You want to put your energy into that group. As for me, I’m mostly a casual fan of many many groups, though I have a weakness for people from JYPE obviously haha. I’ll cheer for the big guys along with the nugus if I like the group.

Anyway, my point (along with a few others in the video) is that you can like as many groups as you want. Just respect each other, respect the artists, and enjoy the music! Because that’s what it’s really about.

5 thoughts on “Is It Okay To Be in 2 Kpop Fan Clubs?

    • Everyone’s is the a little different. But the basic set-up is membership card, some kind of gift(s), and membership benefits. The benefits are usually priority for music shows like Music Bank, Inkigayo, etc. Also members get first crack at buying concert tickets. However, those benefits are usually only for people who live in Korea.

      So, for example, I got my IGOT7 membership kit thing which had the membership card, slippers, a pen, pin, mini memo pads with the boys’ faces on it, and a photobook.

      • Aw that’s cute. But it’s unfortunate it’s only for members in Korea. I mean I understand why it’s done, though all the same it’d be nice if it was added as a perk, like something you could buy as a thing for a few extra dollars.

Leave a Reply

